Mendel Art Gallery

» Franšais

Virtual Museum Canada Musée Virtuel Canada
Qu'appelle Past Present Future  
Tales Fort San Youth Exhibition Poitras Fort San
Stories
 
From the San
''
''

Fort San: Artfully Transformed

 

During the last few decades of the twentieth century, Fort San reinvented itself as a venue for great artistic education and production.

 

Photo Album 1

Two poems by Lia Hiebert: Gabriel and Gaelic

Summer Jazz School at Fort San
“I was a nervous 15 year old from small town Saskatchewan going to spend a week busting my chops learning some cool jazz licks from some big time players.”

Video interviews: Rebecca and Shirley reminisce about painting classes and recount a ghost story from The San.

 

By the 1950s, Saskatchewan was a rapidly growing province. With post-World War II economic vigour, middle class residents were prosperous and the demand for leisure activities developed.

At this time, the recently established Saskatchewan Arts Board started to arrange workshops during the summer in various rural locations. These adult education initiatives arose out of a desire to provide the people of Saskatchewan with a chance to share in cultural activities. At the same time several band camps were successfully launched, as rural and urban residents rallied support for children’s arts education. The success of these workshops led then Premier Ross Thatcher to question “whether it would be feasible to pursue the development of a Residential Centre for Cultural Development at Fort Qu’Appelle Sanatorium.”

Hence, in 1967, the Saskatchewan Summer School of the Arts was founded at Fort San, providing workshops in visual arts, crafts, drama, music, and writing. Thousands of students inhabited the old sanatorium every summer, adults and teenagers, all benefiting from the unique experience that quality instruction and a retreat-like setting could provide.

Many well known instructors taught at the Saskatchewan Summer School of the Arts, and many talented artists continue to emerge from their Fort San experience. Those who did not continue their creative pursuits still remember their time at the Saskatchewan Summer School of the Arts as a memorable experience full of first kisses, first inspirations, and the occasional first ghost!

In 1991, the Saskatchewan Summer School of the Arts closed due to lack of funding, leaving a legacy of artistic production that remains part of the creative continuum that resides in and around the Qu’Appelle Valley.

Next: Echo Valley: Who’s Calling? »

 

'' '' ''

Mendel Art Gallery

» English

Musée Virtuel Canada Virtual Museum Canada
QU'APPELLE le Passé le Présent l'Avenir  
Histoires de deux vallées Contes du San Les jeunes gens de la Vallée Circuit virtuel Edward Poitras Contes du San
Contes
 
du San
''
''

Fort San: la vie artistique

Pendant les dernières décennies du XXe siècle, Fort San se réinvente. Il devient un centre d’enseignement et de production artistiques.

 

Un album de photos

Deux poèmes par Lia Hiebert: Gabriel et Gaelic

L’école d’été de jazz à Fort San
"J’étais un jeune de 15 ans venu directement d’une petite ville en Saskatchewan pour passer une semaine à me casser les mâchoires pour apprendre des airs de jazz à la mode de musiciens de renommée."

Entrevues sur bande vidéo: Rebecca et Shirley se souviennent de leurs cours d’art et racontent une histoire de fantômes du San.

Dans les années cinquante, la Saskatchewan est une province en pleine expansion économique. Le boom économique de l’après-guerre entraîne la prospérité de la classe moyenne. Celle-ci devient friande de loisirs.

C’est à cette époque que le tout nouveau Saskatchewan Arts Board commence à organiser des ateliers d’été hors des villes. Les programmes qui visent les adultes émanent du désir du conseil des arts provincial de permettre à la population saskatchewannaise de participer à des activités culturelles. Au même moment, plusieurs camps pour musiciens en herbe sont lancés avec succès, ruraux comme citadins s’accordant sur les avantages de l’éducation artistique pour les jeunes. Le succès des ateliers amène le Premier Ministre provincial de l’époque, M. Ross Thatcher à se demander « s’il serait possible d’établir un centre culturel résidentiel au sanatorium de Fort San. »

En 1967, Fort San ouvre ses portes à une école d’art, la Saskatchewan Summer School of the Arts. On peut y faire des stages d’arts visuels, d’artisanat, d’art dramatique, de musique et d’écriture littéraire. Chaque été, des milliers d’étudiants de tout âge viennent au vieux sanatorium, attirés par l’expérience unique qu’il offre : un enseignement de qualité dans un lieu de retraite.

De nombreux instructeurs connus ont enseigné à l’école d’arts, et de nombreux artistes s’y sont découverts. Quant à ceux et celles qui n’ont pas poursuivi de carrière artistique, ils se rappellent leur passage à l’école comme une expérience mémorable car c’est là qu’ils ont échangé leurs premiers baisers, qu’ils ont reçu leurs premières inspirations et parfois même, qu’ils ont vu leur premier fantôme !

En 1991, faute de financement, la Saskatchewan Summer School of the Arts ferme ses portes, laissant en héritage une production artistique qui se perpétue dans la vallée de la Qu’Appelle et dans ses alentours.

Suivant: Fort San et Echo Valley: ses visiteurs»

''
'' '' ''