Mendel Art Gallery

» Franšais

Virtual Museum Canada Musée Virtuel Canada
Qu'appelle Past Present Future  
Tales Exhibition Poitras Tales
Tales
 
of Two Valleys
''
''

Pageants and Portraits

 

 

 

Edmund Morris (1871–1913)

Edmund Morris was born in 1871 in Perth, Ontario. He was the son of Alexander Morris, Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba and the North-West Territories from 1872–1877. After receiving art education in New York and Paris, Morris returned to Canada where he helped to found the Canadian Art Club in 1907. In 1906, he probably met Duncan Campbell Scott, one of top mandarins of the Department of Indian Affairs, and through this route, began painting Indian portraits. Under Scott’s influence, he would have been exposed to Scott’s ideas that Indians were “a weird, waning race.”

In 1909 Morris was commissioned by the governments of Saskatchewan and Alberta to do portraits of Indians living in those provinces. Much of this work resides in the legislatures of Saskatchewan and Alberta. Sadly, Morris met an untimely death (some speculate it may have been suicide) in 1913.

Morris, Chief Nepahpenais thumbnail

Edmund Morris, Chief Nepahpenais—Night Bird

Edmund Morris, Le chef Nepahpenais—Night Bird

This portrait was painted in 1908. Nepahpenais was once employed by the Hudson’s Bay Company and journeyed many miles. At eighteen years of age, Nepahpenais had gone on the warpath and was said to have been engaged in seven battles. Once, fighting with the Sioux, his party of 46 were surrounded by 700 of the enemy. For two days they held out and Nepahpenais finally escaped.

Morris, Chief Piapot thumbnail

Edmund Morris, Chief Piapot

Edmund Morris, Le chef Piapot

This image of Piapot depicts him as a classic representative of the Ieader of the northern Plains Indians. He is wearing a Hudson’s Bay Blanket, typical of the fur trade period. He cradles a trade gun, the most valuable and prized possession of a warrior. At the time of annexation of the North West, Piapot was at the front lines of Cree and Assiniboine conflict with the Blackfoot.

 

James Henderson (1871–1951)

Born in Scotland, James Henderson came to Canada in 1910 and, within a few years, found a home at Fort Qu’Appelle. Henderson was fascinated by two things: the Valley and the Indians. According to a biography, he “lived, moved and had his being in the valley. . . . he put on canvas his great love and understanding of its beauty.” His portraits of Indians attempted to capture “the dignity and manhood that was theirs before the coming of the Indian Agent.” His subjects were “majestic creatures, austere, remote.” Like most painters of his age, he believed the Indian was a vanishing race, and his images of them romanticized their past. The Sioux recognized him by naming him an honourary chief Wiciteowapi Wicasa or “Man Who Paints Old Men.”

Henderson, Portrait of Sioux Indian thumbnail

James Henderson, Portrait of Sioux Indian (Chief Standing Buffalo)

James Henderson, Portrait d’un Indien sioux (Chef Standing Buffalo)

Standing Buffalo (Tatankanaje) crossed into Canada in 1862 leaving behind animosities that had erupted after the Minnesota Massacre of that year. This band of Santee Sioux had earlier been allies of the British, and requested that a reserve be established for them in Canada. Their reserve, located 4 miles west of Fort Qu’Appelle, was surveyed in 1881.

Henderson, Waiting thumbnail

James Henderson, Waiting: Sioux Indian (Red Breath)

James Henderson, L’attente: Indien sioux (Red Breath)

Henderson’s Waiting: Sioux Indian (Red Breath) is a classic portrayal of the savage and doomed Indian. Under the Social Darwinist thinking predominant in the latter part of the nineteenth and early part of the twentieth centuries, Indians were regarded as savages who lacked the true attributes of civilization. While Indians were admired as courageous warriors and skilled hunters, it was thought that their intellectual and moral traditions were deficient, if not evil. Hence, it was believed that the key to salvation for the Indian was the abandonment of his culture, and its replacement by European knowledge and religion.

 

Henry Metzger (1877–1949)

Metzger, Chief Matore Tchanka thumbnail

Henry Metzger, Chief Matore Tchanka (Jumping Bear Sioux—fought at Custer Massacre, 1876)

Henry Metzger, Le chef Matore Tchanka (Sioux Jumping Bear qui s’est battu au massacre de Custer en 1876)

Born in France, Metzger became an ordained Roman Catholic priest in 1901. He came to Canada in 1909 and served at Balgonie and at St. Peter’s Colony near Kronau. He is known for building a Grotto to Our Lady of Lourdes, which became a shrine at the Colony. Finally, he painted portraits of prominent Indians as a record for posterity. Although he was an accomplished painter, he shunned any publicity or recognition for his work.

Metzger, Muskeg thumbnail

Henry Metzger, Muskeg, File Hills Indian (Cree)

Henry Metzger, Muskeg, Indien de File Hills (Cri)

This person is likely Muskego or “The Swamp,” an individual who participated in the 1925 Lebret Historical Pageant.

 

Lebret Historical Pageant (1925)

The Lebret Historical Pageant was held on “Hugonard Day,” August 15, 1925; 2,000 whites and 3,500 Indians from the region participated. Distinguished guests included Lieutenant-Governor Newlands and Archbishop Mathieu. Several chiefs from the area attended, including Chief Standing Buffalo, Chief Masqua of Piapot, Chief Echasem Gambler of Muscowpetung, Chief Wachane of Pasqua, and Chief Red Dog, representing File Hills.

Capitol Studios, Landing of Champlain 1 thumbnail

Capitol Studios, Lebret Historical Pageant—the Landing of Champlain with view of Audience (part 1)

Studios Capitol, Regina SK, Tableau historique de Lebret—l’arrivée de Champlain avec vue du public (part 1)

Capitol Studios, Landing of Champlain 2 thumbnail

Capitol Studios, Lebret Historical Pageant—the Landing of Champlain with view of Audience (part 2)

Studios Capitol, Regina SK, Tableau historique de Lebret—l’arrivée de Champlain avec vue du public (part 2)

The day included a depiction of three significant events in Canadian history: the landing of Champlain, the exploration of LaVerendrye, and the arrival of Father Hugonard at Lebret 50 years earlier. The warlikeness of the Indians was depicted by a fight among the tribes, and was followed by interception of the three famous French-speaking personages, all of whom brought peace to the Indians. The event also raised funding for the Hugonard monument, which was erected in 1927.

Capitol Studios, Participants and Audience 1 thumbnail

Capitol Studios, Lebret Historical Pageant—Participants and Audience (part 1)

Studios Capitol, Tableau historique de Lebret—Participants et public (part 1)

Capitol Studios, Participants and Audience 2 thumbnail

Capitol Studios, Lebret Historical Pageant—Participants and Audience (part 2)

Studios Capitol, Tableau historique de Lebret—Participants et public (part 2)

Pageants such as the Lebret Historical Pageant of 1925 were spectacles acceptable to government officials, staged mainly for the benefit of the public. Symbolically, they often took place at a residential school site, which would also highlight the important policy aspect of the residential school.

The greeting of Champlain, while geographically dislocated, nevertheless would have symbolized the acceptance by Indians of white presence. At the same time, Indians in full dress could be displayed like trophies, standing in straight and unthreatening lines.

Capitol Studios, Indians and Furtraders thumbnail

Capitol Studios, Regina SK, Lebret Historical Pageant—Indians and Furtraders

Studios Capitol, Regina SK, Tableau historique de Lebret—Indiens et commerçants de fourrures

Certainly Indians were not often seen outside of their reserves, as their movements were closely monitored by Indian Agents and by dictatorial officials such as William Graham. Therefores, parading them out at certain times became opportunities for public spectacle of an aspect of aboriginal life that was viewed as being primitive, and on the decline, aided by government policies.

 

—Blair Stonechild

'' '' ''

Mendel Art Gallery

» English

Musée Virtuel Canada Virtual Museum Canada
QU'APPELLE le Passé le Présent l'Avenir  
Histoires de deux vallées Contes du San Les jeunes gens de la Vallée Circuit virtuel Edward Poitras Histoires de deux vallées
Histoires
 
de deux Vallées
''
''

Pageants et Portraits

 

 

 

Edmund Morris (1871–1913)

Edmund Morris est né en 1871 à Perth en Ontario. Il était le fils d’Alexandre Morris, Gouverneur-Lieutenant du Manitoba et des Territoires du Nord-ouest de 1872 à 1877. Après avoir etudié à New York et à Paris, Morris est revenu au Canada où il a aidé à fondé le club d’art en 1907. En 1906, il a probablement rencontré Duncan Campbell Scott, un des mandarins importants du département des Affaires Indiennes, et par ce contacte, a commencé à peindre des portraits d’Indiens. Sous l’influence de Scott, il aurait été exposé à l’idée que les Indiens étaient “ une race étrange en déclin. ”

En 1909, Morris a été commissionné par les gouvernements de la Saskatchewan et de l’Alberta a faire des portraits des Indiens qui vivent dans ces provinces. La plupart de ce travail se trouve dans les législatures de la Saskatchewan et de l’Alberta. Malheureusement, il a connu une fin prématurée (certains spéculent un suicide) en 1913.

Edmund Morris, Le chef Nepahpenais—Night Bird

Edmund Morris
Chief Nepahpenais—Night Bird

Edmund Morris
Le chef Nepahpenais—Night Bird

Ce portrait a été peint en 1908. Nepahpenais fut engagé par la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et a voyagé beaucoup de milles. À dix-huit ans, on a dit qu’il était sur le sentier de guerre et qu’il participa dans sept batailles. Une fois, combattant avec les Sioux, son parti de 46 était fut entouré par 700 de l’ennemi. Ils ont tenu le coup pendant deux jours et Nepahpenais s’est finalement échappé.

Edmund Morris, Le chef Piapot

Edmund Morris
Chief Piapot

Edmund Morris
Le chef Piapot

Cette image de Piapot le dépeint comme réprésentant classique de Chef des Indiens nordiques des plaines. Il porte la couverture de la Baie d’Hudson, typique de la période du commerce de fourrure. Il tient un pistolet, la possession la plus valable et la plus estimée d’un guerrier. Au moment de l’annexion du Nord-Ouest, Piapot était aux lignes de front du conflit des Cris et des Assiniboines avec les Pieds-noirs.

 

James Henderson (1871–1951)

Né en Écosse, James Henderson est arrivé au Canada en 1910. Au bout de quelques années il a trouvé une maison au Fort Qu’appelle. Henderson était fasciné par deux choses : la Vallée et les Indiens. Selon une biographie, il “ a vécu, a voyagé et a eu son être dans la Vallée : il a mis sur toile son grand amour et compréhension de sa beauté. ” Ses portraits d’Indiens on essayé de capturer “ la dignité et masculinité qui leur appartenait avant l’arrivée de l’agent des Indiens. ” Ses sujets étaient “ des créatures majestueuses, austères, et distantes. ” Comme la plupart des peintres de son âge, il croyait que l’Indien était une race en disparaition, et ses images d’eux idéalisaient leur passé. Les Sioux l’ont identifié en le nommant chef honoraire, Wiciteowapi Wicasa, ”l’homme qui peint des vieux hommes. ”

James Henderson, Portrait d’un Indien sioux (Chef Standing Buffalo)

James Henderson
Portrait of Sioux Indian (Chief Standing Buffalo)

James Henderson
Portrait d’un Indien sioux (Chef Standing Buffalo)

Bison Debout (Tatankanaje) est venu traversé la frontière vers le Canada en 1862 pour laisser les animosités qui avaient éclaté après le massacre de Minnesota cette année là. Cette bande de Santee Sioux, avait été des alliée aux Anglais, et ils avaient demandé qu’on établisse une réserve pour eux au Canada. Leur réserve, situé à 4 milles à l’ouest de Fort Qu’appelle, a été établie en 1881.

James Henderson, L’attente: Indien sioux (Red Breath)

James Henderson
Waiting: Sioux Indian (Red Breath)

James Henderson
L’attente: Indien sioux (Red Breath)

L’attente de Henderson : l’Indien Sioux (Souffle Rouge) est une représentation classique de l’Indien sauvage condamné. Sous la pensée Sociale de Darwin prédominante dans la dernière partie du dix-neuvième siècle, les Indiens ont été considérés comme des sauvages qui manquaient les vrais attributs de civilization. Tandis que les Indiens étaient admirés en tant que des guerriers courageux et chasseurs habiles, on pensait que leurs traditions intellectuelles et morales étaient déficientes, même mauvaises. Par conséquant, on croyait que la clé du salut pour l’Indien était l’abandon de sa culture, afin de la remplacer par la connaissance et la religion européenne.

 

Henry Metzger (1877–1949)

Henry Metzger, Le chef Matore Tchanka (Sioux Jumping Bear qui s’est battu au massacre de Custer en 1876)

Henry Metzger
Chief Matore Tchanka (Jumping Bear Sioux—fought at Custer Massacre, 1876)

Henry Metzger
Le chef Matore Tchanka (Sioux Jumping Bear qui s’est battu au massacre de Custer en 1876)

Né en France, Metzger est devenu prêtre catholique en 1901. Il est venu au Canada en 1909 et a servi à Balgonie et à la colonie de Saint Pierre près de Kronau. Il est connu pour avoir construit une grotte à Notre Dame de Lourdes, qui est devenu un site de pélérinage à la colonie. Il a aussi peint des portraits d’Indiens fameux pour la postérité. Bien qu’il était peintre accompli, il a évité toute publicité ou idendification de son travail.

Henry Metzger, Muskeg, Indien de File Hills (Cri)

Henry Metzger
Muskeg, File Hills Indian (Cree)

Henry Metzger
Muskeg, Indien de File Hills (Cri)

Cette personne est probablement Muskego ou “ Le marais, ” un individu qui a participé au Pageant Historique de Lebret, en 1925.

 

Le Pageant Historique de Lebret (1925)

Le Pageant Historique de Lebret a eu lieu “ La Journée de Hugonard, ” le 15 août, 1925 : 2.000 Blancs et 3.500 Indiens ont participé. Les invités distingués ont inclu le Gouverneur-Lieutenant Newlands et l’Archévêque Mathieu. Plusieurs Chefs des environs ont assisté, Le Chef Bison Debout, le Chef Masqua de Piapot, et le Chef Chien Rouge, représentant File Hills.

Studios Capitol, Regina SK, Tableau historique de Lebret—l’arrivée de Champlain avec vue du public (part 1)

Capitol Studios
Lebret Historical Pageant—the Landing of Champlain with view of Audience (part 1)

Studios Capitol, Regina SK
Tableau historique de Lebret—l’arrivée de Champlain avec vue du public (part 1)

Studios Capitol, Regina SK, Tableau historique de Lebret—l’arrivée de Champlain avec vue du public (part 2)

Capitol Studios
Lebret Historical Pageant—the Landing of Champlain with view of Audience (part 2)

Studios Capitol, Regina SK
Tableau historique de Lebret—l’arrivée de Champlain avec vue du public (part 2)

La journée a inclu une description de trois événements significatifs dans l’histoire du Canada : le débarquement de Champlain, l’exploration de La Vérendrye, et l’arrivée du Père Hugonard à Lebret cinquante ans plus tôt. La représentation des Indiens comme guerriers a été raconter par un combat entre les tribus, et a été suivi par l’interception des trois personnages célèbres de langue française, qui avaient apporté la paix aux Indiens. L’événement a également rapporté des fonds pour le monument de Hugonard, érigé en 1927.

Studios Capitol, Tableau historique de Lebret—Participants et public (part 1)

Capitol Studios
Lebret Historical Pageant—Participants and Audience (part 1)

Studios Capitol
Tableau historique de Lebret—Participants et public (part 1)

Studios Capitol, Tableau historique de Lebret—Participants et public (part 2)

Capitol Studios
Lebret Historical Pageant—Participants and Audience (part 2)

Studios Capitol
Tableau historique de Lebret—Participants et public (part 2)

Les Pageants, tel que le Pageant Historique de Lebret en 1925, étaient des spectacles acceptables aux fonctionnaires du Gouvernement, et mis en scène principalement pour le bienfait du public. Symboliquement, ils ont souvent eu lieu dans l’enceinte d’une école résidentielle, ce qui soulignait l’important aspect politique de ces écoles. La salutation à Champlain, géographiquement déplacée, aurait néanmoins symbolisé l’acceptation par les Indiens de la présence des Blancs. En même temps, les Indiens en plein costume pouvaient être exposés comme des trophées, se tenant debout dans les lignes droites non-menaçantes.

Studios Capitol, Regina SK, Tableau historique de Lebret—Indiens et commerçants de fourrures

Capitol Studios, Regina SK
Lebret Historical Pageant—Indians and Furtraders

Studios Capitol, Regina SK
Tableau historique de Lebret—Indiens et commerçants de fourrures

Certainement les Indiens n’ont pas été souvent vus en dehors de leurs réserves, car leurs mouvements ont été étroitement surveillés par les agents des Indiens et par les fonctionnaires autoritaires tels que William Graham. Les défilées occasionelles sont devenu l’occasion de montrer un aspect de la vie indigène, considérée primitive et en déclin.

 

—Blair Stonechild

''
'' '' ''