Mendel Art Gallery

» Franšais

Virtual Museum Canada Musée Virtuel Canada
Qu'appelle Past Present Future  
Tales Fort San Youth Exhibition Poitras Youth
Youth
 
From the Valley
''
''

Youth From the Valley

 

This multimedia project has been created through a partnership between the Bert Fox Composite High School in Fort Qu’Appelle and the Mendel Art Gallery. Through a series of workshops conducted with a multimedia artist, several students have created online artworks that address their perspectives on the history of Qu’Appelle Valley.

Bert Fox Composite High School is located in Fort Qu’Appelle, Saskatchewan. It has a student population of around 425 students in grades seven to twelve, who live in surrounding areas, First Nations, and the town of Fort Qu’Appelle itself. It is a community school, eager to open its doors to the neighborhood in order to provide a caring environment that nurtures responsible citizens and lifelong learners.

Bert Fox Composite High School has gained a reputation for producing high-quality grassroots projects. These online projects caught the attention of the Mendel Art Gallery, and a collaborative new media project emerged. Art teacher Mr. Andy Edwards and Principal Mr. Rick Todd were instrumental in engaging the rest of the school’s interest and garnering support for the project. The Mendel Art Gallery brought in new media artist and instructor Jennifer Hamilton to lead workshops with a select group of students who excel in drama, filmmaking, art, writing, dreaming, storytelling, skateboarding, map making, as well as other creative pursuits. Neutral Ground Artist in Residence Linda Surjk and the Mendel Art Gallery’s Webmaster Michael Zajac provided technical assistance.

Students Kaitlen Yee, Amy Drummond, Jolani Lombard, Laurel Keepness, Lerissa Carter, Jordan Schmit, and Brittany Mooney were chosen for the project. During the month of May 2002, they developed their ideas about being teenagers in the Qu’Appelle Valley today. Each student chose a location in the Valley from which to “speak” from, connecting these sites together to form a virtual constellation that guides visitors of the World Wide Web to the Qu’Appelle Valley.

'' '' ''

Mendel Art Gallery

» English

Musée Virtuel Canada Virtual Museum Canada
QU'APPELLE le Passé le Présent l'Avenir  
Histoires de deux vallées Contes du San Les jeunes gens de la Vallée Circuit virtuel Edward Poitras Les jeunes gens de la Vallée
Les jeunes
 
gens de la Vallee
''
''

Les jeunes gens de la Vallée

 

La Jeunesse de la Vallée

Ce projet de multimédia a été créé par une association entre l’École Secondaire Bert Fox à Fort Qu’appelle et la Galerie d’Art Mendel. Par une série d’ateliers conduits avec des artistes multimédia, plusieurs étudiants ont créé des travaux d’art sur ligne qui adressent leurs perspectives sur l’histoire de la Vallée Qu’appelle.

 

Ground Gazing (nécessite QuickTime)

 

L’École Secondaire Bert Fox est située à Fort Qu’appelle, Saskatchewan. Il y a une population d’environ 425 étudiants de septième à douzième année, qui vivent dans les abords, dans les réserves des Premières Nations et la ville de Fort Qu’appelle. C’est une école de communauté, désireuse d’ouvrir ses portes au voisinage afin de fournir un environnement chaleureux qui entretient des citoyens responsables et des étudiants de formation continue.

L’École Secondaire Bert Fox a gagné la réputation de produire des projets de bases de haute qualité. Ces projets sur ligne ont attiré l’attention de la Galerie d’Art Mendel, et les nouveaux projets de médias ont émergé. M. Andy Edwards, professeur d’art, et M. Rick Todd, directeur ont été instrumentaux à engager l’intérêt du reste de l’école et à recueillir le soutien du projet. La Galerie d’Art Mendel a fait appel à l’instructeur et artiste de nouveau média, Jennifer Hamilton, pour mener des ateliers avec un groupe choisi d’étudiants qui excellent dans le théatre, le cinéma, l’art, l’écriture, le rêve, le skateboard, la cartographie, l’art de raconter des histoires ainsi que d’autres poursuites créatives. L’artiste “ Neutral Ground, ” en résidence, Linda Surjk, et la Galerie d’Art Mendel ont fourni l’assistance technique.

Les étudiants Kaitlen Yee, Amy Drummond, Jolani Lombard, Laurel Keepness, Lerissa Carter, Jordan Schmit, and Brittany Mooney ont été choisis pour le projet. Pendant le mois de mai 2002, ils ont développé leurs idées sur le sujet d’être adolescent dans la Vallée Qu’appelle aujourd’hui. Chaque étudiant a choisi un emplacement dans la vallée d’où il pourrait ‘ parler, ’ reliant ces sites à la forme de constellation virtuelle qui guide les visiteurs du World Wide Web à la Vallée Qu’appelle.

''
'' '' ''